Sephora Play January 2017 Review

play-by-sephora-january-2017-inside-booklet
Sephora is the holy grail of makeup in the United States. It carries high end and luxury brand make up. However, top name brands of make up do not come cheap. You can easily leave the store spending over 100 dollars with only 3 items in hand. On a college budget that isn’t always the best choice especially if you find that you do not like the product as much as you thought you would. Enter the Sephora Play subscription box.

play-by-sephora-january-2017-unboxing

A wide variety of beauty subscription boxes of various prices and quality have been on the market for a few years now. As a beauty fanatic I was curious about them, but I never found one I thought was truly worth it until Sephora Play. The almost devastatingly on-brand shipping box contains a small makeup bag holding 6 large samples each month. The box also includes a Sephora Play voucher worth 25 bonus beauty insider points valid with any full size purchase. An explanation sheet is also included containing information about each product and the theme for the month.

 

p406668-av-01-lhero

 

Jen Atkin, the queen of effortlessly chic hair who is most known for being the hair stylist and friend of popular celebrities, started her own haircare line in 2016, called Ouai. As an unashamed Kardashian fan I wanted to get my hands on her products as soon as they were released and make my attempt at achieving Kardashian level tresses. I refrained until Christmas when I purchased the hair care oil and wave spray. The oil has made an unbelievable difference in the health and appearance of my hair. So the moment I saw the Ouai treatment mask in my first box my ten dollars felt well spent. I have yet to use the mask, but am so excited to try it!

 

s1843135-main-lhero

The next product that caught my eye was Tarte’s FRXXXTION stick exfoliating cleanser. I liked getting this product as a sample because I would never try this potentially gimmicky product out of the blue. The information says the dark stick can be used as an exfoliator, cleanser and face mask. I am trying to save the good-sized product for Spring break as it is the perfect carry-on face cleanser due to its solid-to-suds use.

 

s70680-main-lhero
My second favorite product from this month’s box has to be the “almost lipstick” in the shade Black Honey from Clinique. It is a perfect winter berry color. It glides onto your lips leaving zero sticky residue, but does leave strong pigmentation that stays put. I hope they expand the “almost lipstick” collection because I adore this product and want it in every color.

 

s1754076-main-lhero

Caudalie is a french skin care company known for their grape-oriented products. All of their skin care is natural. This month included a sample of their Resveratrol Lift Face Lifting Mositurizer. Although, I can’t say it made any noticeable effect in regards to tighter or younger looking skin it did smell great and and made my face feel soft.

s1701291-main-lhero

The product that most underwhelmed me was the Loose Dermablend Setting Powder. I can say the sample is large, but I simply don’t use setting powder very often. I much prefer using setting spray.

 

s1807999-main-lhero

The last product was a toillete sample of a Pinrose brand perform called Wild Child. I really liked the packaging and promotional card for the perfume, but I don’t like the scent enough to consider purchasing the full size product. The scent is made from a variety of white flowers.

Overall, I am happy with this month’s product choices and waiting in anticipation for the February box.

Leave a Reply

